Review · Single-to-double stroller
Bugaboo Donkey 5 Review: Buy a Used Donkey 5 or a New Donkey 6?
Short answer: The Bugaboo Donkey 5 is worth it used or on clearance, not at its $1,749 list price. Bugaboo replaced it with the Donkey 6, which costs $1,699 new. The Donkey 5 comes with a bassinet and seat, widens to carry two and has two 22 lb baskets. At 33.28 lb it is heavy, so check parts and recalls first.
Previous model. Bugaboo has replaced it with the Bugaboo Donkey 6. Read our Bugaboo Donkey 6 review.
Our verdict
8.7out of 10
Excellent
Best for
- Families planning a second child close in age
- Parents who want two kids side by side, not one behind the other
- Buyers who find a complete set well under a new Donkey 6
Skip if
- The asking price is close to a new Donkey 6 at $1,699
- You have a small trunk or carry the stroller up stairs
- You need to fit narrow doorways in double mode
Pros
- Bassinet and seat in the box, so it works from birth
- 22 lb underseat basket plus a 22 lb side basket in single mode
- Widens about 5.5 in to carry two children side by side
- Large 10 in front and 12 in rear puncture-proof wheels
Cons
- 33.28 lb with the seat, and the fold is bulky
- BabyGearLab found it poor off-road and hard to fit in a trunk
- The Donkey 6 costs less new than the Donkey 5's list price
$1,749List price, October 2026
See it at BugabooPrices change often. Check the retailer before you buy.
The Donkey 5 is a capable side-by-side stroller that starts as a single. Bugaboo lists it at 33.28 lb with the seat, and it comes with a bassinet, a seat to 50 lb and two 22 lb baskets. The Donkey 6 costs $1,699, less than the Donkey 5's $1,749 list price, and adds a bigger basket. So a Donkey 5 only makes sense at a clear discount. BabyGearLab found the fold bulky, so measure your trunk before you buy.
Who is the Bugaboo Donkey 5 for?
The Bugaboo Donkey 5 is for families who want one stroller that starts as a single and widens to carry two children side by side. Bugaboo has replaced it with the Donkey 6, and its US page now says the Donkey 5 Mono is no longer available. Its last list price on Bugaboo's site was $1,749, with a sale price of $1,399.20. The Mono came with both a bassinet and a seat, so it covers a newborn without extra parts. With the Duo extension set, sold separately, it carries two. It suits families with a second child on the way. It is heavy and wide, so it is less suited to walk-up apartments or small cars. If you find a complete Donkey 5 well under a new Donkey 6, it is good value.
How does the Donkey 5 ride and steer?
The Bugaboo Donkey 5 has large puncture-proof wheels, 10 in at the front and 12 in at the back, per Bugaboo. Bugaboo calls it all-terrain. Reviewers differ on how it rides. Lucie's List called it polished and said it gets through doorways easily as a single, and that the Duo is about the width of a wheelchair. BabyGearLab praised its tight turns on flat ground but found it a poor performer off-road, needing more effort than rivals. It gave maneuverability 6.2 out of 10. As a single it is 23.6 in wide, and Bugaboo says double mode adds about 5.5 in. Lucie's List noted the wheels are foam-filled, so there are no flats to fix. When buying used, spin each wheel, check the brake, and make sure the frame slides out and locks in double mode.
- Maneuverability8.7 / 10
- WheelsPuncture-proof wheels, 10 in front and 12 in rear, per Bugaboo
How big is the Donkey 5 when folded?
Bugaboo lists the Donkey 5 Mono at 33.28 lb with the seat and 35.38 lb with the bassinet. It folds two ways. The one-piece fold stands on its own at 20.5 x 23.6 x 35.4 in. The two-piece fold, with the seat removed, is 35 x 23.6 x 13.8 in. Bugaboo's compare table calls the fold two-handed. BabyGearLab said the fold is not much smaller than the open stroller, has no lock, and that seats and wheels had to come off to fit its test car's trunk. Lucie's List also named the fold as its main complaint. Measure your trunk before you buy.
Is the Donkey 5 comfortable and safe?
The Bugaboo Donkey 5 Mono comes with a bassinet and an aerated mattress, so a newborn can lie flat. The seat is reversible and reclines, and Bugaboo rates it to 50 lb per seat. It has a 5-point harness and a large UPF 50+ sun canopy. BabyGearLab rated kid comfort 8.2 out of 10 but noted the leg rest does not adjust. Lucie's List said the seats are fairly small and may not last past age 3 or 4 for bigger children. Bugaboo lists the stroller for 0 to 4 years. When buying used, check the bassinet fabric, the mattress and the harness for wear.
How much storage does the Donkey 5 have?
Bugaboo lists two baskets on the Donkey 5 Mono: a 22 lb underseat basket reachable from front and back, and a 22 lb side luggage basket. Lucie's List said storage is where the Donkey shines, but noted the side basket can't be used in double mode. BabyGearLab found the underseat bin easy to reach but loose, like a hanging bag. BabyGearLab rated the build quality 8 out of 10. The Donkey 6 underseat basket holds 33 lb.
How does the Donkey 5 grow with your baby?
Scroll through the stages below; the 3D stroller changes as you go. Drag it to turn it.
1 · Bassinet
-
01 · From birth
Bassinet
Yes, with the included bassinet
-
02 · When baby outgrows the bassinet
Seat, reclined
Bugaboo lists the stroller for 0 months to 4 years; the seat's starting age is not stated on the pages we opened. Reversible, reclining seat; Bugaboo gives no angles, and BabyGearLab notes the leg rest does not adjust
-
03 · Sitting up, through the toddler years
Seat, upright
The seat is rated to 50 lb, so most children can ride until they no longer need a stroller.
-
04 · When a sibling arrives
Two children
Single-to-double with the Duo extension set (sold separately), about 5.5 in wider; a Bugaboo wheeled board carries a third child
Should you buy a Donkey 5 used or the new Donkey 6?
Start with price. Bugaboo lists the Donkey 6 single at $1,699, less than the Donkey 5 Mono's last list price of $1,749. By Bugaboo's specs, the two are close in size. The Donkey 6 weighs 33.7 lb with the seat against 33.28 lb and folds to 22 x 24.2 x 35.4 in against 20.5 x 23.6 x 35.4 in. Both use 10 in and 12 in wheels. Bugaboo says the Donkey 6 underseat basket is 50% bigger, at 33 lb, and its bassinet has panels twice as large for airflow. It also uses more recycled materials. A used Donkey 5 makes sense when it is complete and clearly cheaper. Before you pay, check recalls on cpsc.gov, test the fold and the double-mode slide, and confirm the Duo set and adapters are Donkey 5 parts.
Bugaboo Donkey 5 vs Bugaboo Donkey 6 vs UPPAbaby Vista V2
| Spec | Bugaboo Donkey 5 | Bugaboo Donkey 6 | UPPAbaby Vista V2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 8.7 | 8.9 | 9.0 |
| List price | $1,749 | $1,699 | $999.99 |
| Weight | 33.3 lb | 33.7 lb | 27 lb |
| Folded (L×W×H) | 20.5×23.6×35.4 in | 22×24.2×35.4 in | 17.3×25.7×33.3 in |
| Max child weight | per seat, per Bugaboo's product page; its compare table says 50.71 lb (23 kg) | 50 lb per seat; bassinet to 20 lb (Bugaboo) | 50 lb |
| Bassinet included | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Seats two children | With add-on seat | With add-on seat | With add-on seat |
| Type | Single-to-double | Single-to-double | Single-to-double |
Bugaboo Donkey 6: The current version with a bigger basket, at $1,699. UPPAbaby Vista V2: A used single-to-double that last listed at $999.99, with kids seated one behind the other.
How we rated the Bugaboo Donkey 5
Six criteria, weighted by how much they shape everyday life. Read our methodology.
Weighted total8.7— Excellent
Bugaboo Donkey 5 full specifications
| Type | Single-to-double |
|---|---|
| Weight | 33.3 lb (Mono, fully assembled with seat, per Bugaboo's US product page; 35.38 lb with the bassinet) |
| Folded size (L×W×H) | 20.5×23.6×35.4 in (one-piece, self-standing fold, per Bugaboo; the two-piece fold is 35 x 23.6 x 13.8 in) |
| Open size (L×W×H) | 33.5×23.6×43.7 in |
| Max child weight | per seat, per Bugaboo's product page; its compare table says 50.71 lb (23 kg) |
| From birth | Yes, with the included bassinet |
| Seat age | Bugaboo lists the stroller for 0 months to 4 years; the seat's starting age is not stated on the pages we opened |
| Recline | Reversible, reclining seat; Bugaboo gives no angles, and BabyGearLab notes the leg rest does not adjust |
| Basket | Up to 22 lb |
| Fold | One-piece self-standing or two-piece compact fold; Bugaboo's compare table calls it two-handed |
| Wheels & suspension | Puncture-proof wheels, 10 in front and 12 in rear, per Bugaboo |
| Car seat compatibility | Infant car seats with Bugaboo Donkey adapters (sold separately); the full list was not confirmed |
| Converts | Single-to-double with the Duo extension set (sold separately), about 5.5 in wider; a Bugaboo wheeled board carries a third child |
| Travel | Not airline carry-on size |
| In the box | Stroller base with wheels, Seat with 5-point harness and footrest, Bassinet with aerated mattress, UPF 50+ sun canopy, Rain cover, Underseat basket and side luggage basket, Duo extension set (sold separately), Car seat adapters (sold separately) |
| Safety | Bugaboo's US page lists no stroller safety certification |
| List price | $1,749 (Last Bugaboo US list price for the Donkey 5 Mono, shown on Bugaboo's US compare page on 31 Oct 2026 with a sale price of $1,399.20. Bugaboo's Donkey 5 Mono product page says it is no longer available. BabyGearLab listed the Donkey 5 Duo at $1,859 in 2023.) |
What to buy instead
The current version with a bigger basket, at $1,699.
Bugaboo Donkey 6
8.9 — Excellent. 33.7 lb, folds to 22×24.2×35.4 in, $1,699.
A used single-to-double that last listed at $999.99, with kids seated one behind the other.
UPPAbaby Vista V2
9.0 — Exceptional. 27 lb, folds to 17.3×25.7×33.3 in, $999.99.
A new single-to-double stroller for $549.
Mockingbird Single-to-Double 3.0
8.6 — Excellent. 28 lb, folds to 34×26×18 in, $549.
Bugaboo Donkey 5 FAQ
Is the Bugaboo Donkey 5 discontinued?
Yes. Bugaboo's US page for the Donkey 5 Mono says it is no longer available and points shoppers to the Donkey 6. Bugaboo's compare page still showed a $1,749 list price with a $1,399.20 sale price in October 2026. Most buyers will find it secondhand or as leftover stock.
Is a used Donkey 5 worth buying?
It can be, if it is complete and well below a new Donkey 6 at $1,699. The Donkey 5 comes with a bassinet, widens for two and has two 22 lb baskets. Check the wheels, fold, brake and harness, look up recalls on cpsc.gov, and ask whether the Duo set is included.
What is the difference between the Donkey 5 and Donkey 6?
By Bugaboo's specs, the Donkey 6 single costs $1,699, weighs 33.7 lb with the seat and has a 33 lb basket, 50% bigger. The Donkey 5 Mono listed at $1,749 and weighs 33.28 lb with a 22 lb basket. The Donkey 6 bassinet also has larger airflow panels.
Has the Bugaboo Donkey 5 been recalled?
We found no CPSC recall for the Donkey 5 as of October 2026. The one Donkey recall on record, from January 2013, covers early Donkey strollers with serial numbers 170101105300001 to 170104130900500. Check the serial number on any used Donkey against cpsc.gov before buying.